LICENSE LAW REQUIREMENT – The Illinois Real Estate License Act as amended requires all individual Brokers holding a valid Illinois broker’s license must complete 18 hours of continuing education (which includes mandatory 6 hour Broker Management Course) for the renewal period ending April 30, 2010. Salespersons holding a valid Illinois salesperson license to complete 12 hours of continuing education for the renewal period ending April 30, 2009. Salespersons holding a license for more than one year but less than two years are required to have a minimum of 6 hours of continuing education credit, with at least three of those being CORE courses.
APPROVED COURSES – All continuing education (CE) courses offered by the McHenry County Association of REALTORS® are sponsored by the Illinois Association of REALTORS® (IAR), an Illinois approved school. Brokers and Salespersons need a minimum of 6 hours of CE in the CORE Course category to include both CORE A and CORE B and 6 hours of elective courses.
RENEWAL PERIOD – Courses are applicable to the 4/30/09 renewal period for Salesperson and the 4/30/10 renewal period for brokers. A total of 18 hours (for brokers) or 12 hours (for salespersons) of CE credit is required during each two-year period.
IMPORTANT BROKERS NOTE - Brokers will have to complete the Broker Management 6 hour course between the 5/01/08 and 4/30/10 renewal period and every renewal thereafter, which makes the total continuing education requirement for Brokers 18 hours. Brokers who have completed the 6 hour Broker Management course will receive their results via letter from REEF. If there are any questions or you need a duplicate letter, you can contact REEF at (217) 725-7283 or email Stephen Sundquist at SSundquist@ilreef.org
EXEMPTIONS – Attorneys holding a Salesperson or Broker license are exempt from CE. All others are required to fulfill the requirements. The “grandfather clause” was eliminated by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.
REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS – Advanced registration is required, as seating is limited to 50. Driver’s License or photo I.D., and real estate license is required for processing. Payments must be made prior to the stated deadline or there is a $10.00 additional charge. Registration fee will be forfeited if attendee does not show.
CLASS REQUIREMENTS – Check-in begins one hour prior to class time. Late arrivals will not be admitted, per License Law. All pagers and phones must be turned off during the session and exam time. Attendees may only leave the session during scheduled breaks or no credit will be received for the course.
COMPLETED COURSE RECORD KEEPING – A certificate of completion should be received within 45 days after completion of the course. You will receive a postcard with your results. This postcard is your proof of course completion and must be maintained in your files. Duplicate certificates are available from IAR for a fee.
Brokers and Salespersons may view their completed IAR/McHCAR sponsored courses under the “lookup” link at www.illinoisrealtor.com. Access will require your license number.